To D…or not to & D

work

I want to create gaming content. I would also like to get a few dollars for my efforts.

Currently, the most accessible game for publishing and arguably, the most popular, is  Wizards of Coast’s Dungeons and Dragons 5ED.

They have a great way to publish content and make money through the DMs guild.

So what’s my problem?

My issues are as follows;

There is so much player created content, I have fears that my efforts would not stand out.  5ED just celebrated it five year anniversary. That’s a lot of time for fan creations to get made and clog up the space.

My second issue is that D&D isn’t my favorite system. It’s not even top 5. I love that it is so accessible and it is bringing in new player at levels I would have never dreamed of.  At my tables, the last 20 years, D&D wasn’t played. We had one early edition game that ran few sessions, but anything epic, anything memorable, was hosted by other role-playing systems entirely.

I’ve contacted my first system choice to see if they would allow me to use their system, but they said no. I’m not sure if that answer will change. Hope so, but I must proceed without them.

Now the question that I still don’t have an answer for:

Is it better to pick a system and do everything in it?

Or is it best to create only settings without a system attached?

I wish I knew, because it’s hard to do both at the same time, so much in fact, that I’m creatively paralyzed.

Leave a comment